Skip to main content

Momence vs Mindbody: Which Studio Software Actually Fits Your Business

By Vibefam Editorial
(Updated: Sep 2, 2026 )
Boutique yoga and pilates studio interior: row of reformer beds along the left wall, arched matte-black-framed industrial window with warm brick, wooden reception nook, mat and prop storage on the right, warm afternoon light on the honey-blonde bamboo floor. No people.
Both platforms hide the price you'll actually pay. Mindbody at least publishes Starter at $79/mo per location. Momence publishes nothing. Real Momence bills, from operators on Capterra, run $250 to $2,000+/mo. Here's the honest read, and the fee neither company mentions upfront.

Key takeaways

  • Neither platform publishes real pricing. Mindbody at least publishes Starter at $79/mo per location. Momence publishes nothing.
  • Real Momence prices, from Capterra reviewer disclosures: $250/mo (small single-location, light use) to $2,000+/mo (multi-format boutique).
  • Mindbody charges a 20% marketplace fee on any first purchase a member makes through its consumer app, capped at $30 per client. Neither vendor puts this at the top of their sales pitch.
  • Momence bills carry documented gotchas: continued billing after cancellation, forced tier upgrades, per-signup application fees, and a forced backlink to momence.com.
  • Mindbody's consumer app is a real discovery channel that Momence doesn't have. Mindbody claims about 3 million active users on it.

At a glance

DimensionMomenceMindbody
Published pricingNone; demo request requiredStarter $79/mo per location; higher tiers quote-only
Reviewer-disclosed range$250 to $2,000+/mo (Capterra)$79 to $600+/mo (Starter published; Accelerate/Ultimate quoted)
Marketplace feeNot applicable20% on first purchase, capped at $30 per client
Card processing (US online)3.9% + $0.30 (disclosed in-product, not on pricing page)Not published
Billing surprises documented in reviewsContinued billing after cancellation, forced tier upgrades, per-signup application fees, forced backlink to momence.com, 1% Stripe markupNone widely reported at Starter
Consumer discovery appNoYes (Mindbody claims ~3M active users)
Multi-location fitHigher tiers only (quoted)Native from Starter, better at 3+ locations
Capterra value-for-money3.8/5Varies by tier
Overhead of a boutique studio owner's desk with a laptop showing a two-column software comparison spreadsheet, a printed pricing quote sheet with a pen, coffee mug, plant

What each platform actually costs

Start with the honest read. Both platforms put you through a sales cycle before you know what you'll pay. Mindbody at least gives you an anchor: Starter is publicly listed at $79/mo per location. That's the only tier either company publishes. Momence gives you nothing.

That distinction matters, because a lot of the marketing around Momence leans on "we're the transparent alternative." It isn't true. Mindbody publishes Starter. Momence publishes zero tiers.

For the verbatim breakdown, our Momence pricing post walks through every disclosed number.

What Momence actually costs, three data points

$250/mo (lower end). Chase H., April 2026: "Fairly priced at $250/month for what it offers." Smaller single-location, light feature use. He goes on to document a payment capture failure, so read the whole review.

$500 to $900/mo (middle band). For a single-location studio doing around $30K/mo revenue, reviewer disclosures cluster here for base software cost before card processing. You can't verify that in advance. The pricing lives inside the sales cycle.

$2,000/mo (upper end). Simone P., April 2025: "the only seamless thing is the 2k a month they take out of our bank account." Multi-format boutique.

Same platform, ten times the bill. That's what happens when a vendor prices in the dark.

What Mindbody actually costs

Easier to sketch, because the entry is public. Same $30K/mo single-location studio on Starter: $79 base plus card processing at an unpublished rate. Assume ~$870 in processing at 2.9% + $0.30 across a mostly-online mix. Total lands near $949/mo, about 3.2% of revenue.

Starter caps at one location and constrains staff logins. Add either and you're in Accelerate or Ultimate quote territory, where operators report bills in the $300 to $600/mo range on top of processing.

How Mindbody's marketplace fee works

The fee neither company puts at the top of a sales pitch. Understand it before you compare monthly numbers.

Mindbody operates a consumer marketplace, the Mindbody app. Members who discover your studio through the app get their first purchase intermediated by Mindbody, which takes 20% of that first transaction, capped at $30 per client. After purchase one, the member is yours. No further marketplace fee.

Read it as a customer acquisition cost, not a per-transaction merchant fee. A $200 membership costs you $30 to the marketplace. A $10 drop-in costs you $2. The cap protects high-ticket packages. Every marketplace-sourced member is a ~$30 CAC you didn't pay Google or Meta.

Momence has no equivalent. No consumer app, no marketplace fee. The trade is: no discovery channel, no marketplace clip.

For a single-location studio marketing on Instagram, search, and word of mouth, the marketplace is roughly neutral. Some members you didn't pay for, minus a $30 clip. For a competitive urban studio chasing member volume, a $30 CAC beats $100+ on paid social. Factor it in either way.

The billing surprises operators report on Momence

Five patterns recur across the Capterra cons text. Documented in our own Momence pricing analysis. None of these will show up in a Momence quote unless you ask, because there's no quote to show them in.

Continued billing after cancellation. Most-cited complaint in the cons text. Operators report that cancellation didn't stop the charge; they had to escalate through customer service.

Forced tier upgrades without notice. Julie S., November 2024: "ZERO Notice to changes in features in your plan. Requiring upgrades constantly. Requiring new upgrades while still charging application fees to the owner." The plan you sign isn't necessarily the plan you keep running on.

Per-signup application fees. Julie S. also flagged these: new-member signups carry a fee charged to the owner, layered on the monthly. Not disclosed on the pricing page (because there isn't one).

A forced backlink to momence.com. Matt R., November 2024: "they force you to give them a backlink from your website to momence.com improving their SEO, we pay you $300 go buy your own backlinks don't force us to promote your product." Documented on multiple Momence-powered studio sites. Not standard in this category.

A 1% Stripe markup on processing. Momence uses Stripe and adds 1% on top of Stripe's rate. On online transactions the effective total lands around 4.9% + $0.30 once the markup is applied.

Mindbody Starter doesn't have widely-reported analogous issues. Higher Mindbody tiers do have their own contract-friction complaints, particularly around minimum-term commitments and auto-renewal windows, but the pattern is different from Momence's fragmented per-fee model.

Warm timber boutique yoga studio reception counter with a tablet on a brass stand showing a soft-focus member signup interface, ceramic bowl with keys, folded towels on lower shelf, fresh eucalyptus in a stoneware vase

Where each platform is actually built to shine

80% of studio operations overlap on both. Scheduling, memberships, retail, staff, payments, member app, reporting. Neither has a meaningful gap in the core.

The 20% where they diverge is where the choice lives.

Mindbody has the consumer marketplace. The Mindbody app aggregates studios and lets members search, book, and pay across venues. Mindbody claims about 3 million active users, which is a real acquisition channel Momence has no equivalent for. Multi-location plumbing on Mindbody's higher tiers is also genuinely deeper: franchise roll-ups, unlimited staff, enterprise reporting that assumes a portfolio, not a location.

Momence ships with less legacy CRM baggage. Cleaner interface, fewer accumulated years of feature drag. Faster feature releases too, which cuts both ways. Faster fixes when something breaks; more frequent breaking changes for operators who value stability.

Neither difference translates to "one is better." They translate to "one fits how you run, the other doesn't."

When to pick Momence

Pick Momence if your studio is single-location, your marketing is organic (search, Instagram, word of mouth, referrals), and you specifically want a cleaner day-one product than Mindbody offers. You'll pay for it with sales-cycle friction on pricing, and with the risk of the billing surprises documented above. Both are real.

Get a Momence quote in writing. Then get it in writing again after asking specifically about application fees, the forced backlink, the 1% Stripe markup, and cancellation procedure. Every one has surfaced as a surprise on someone else's bill.

Momence is a hard fit if you need transparency in advance, you plan to scale past one location, you're negotiating a commercial lease that needs software cost as a line item, or the forced backlink is a non-starter for your SEO strategy.

When to pick Mindbody

Pick Mindbody if you're already multi-location or planning to be, you value being on the marketplace where members already search, or you need enterprise reporting for a portfolio. Starter's public $79/mo is at least an anchor for single-location planning. Multi-location roll-ups on higher tiers are what the platform is genuinely built for.

Mindbody is a hard fit if projected revenue is under about $10K/mo (Starter's base plus processing becomes disproportionate), if you have no interest in the marketplace and don't want the 20% first-purchase fee, or if you specifically dislike the accumulated feature complexity of a platform with a decade-plus of iteration.

The migration reality

Both take roughly the same window: 2 to 4 weeks for a single-location studio, longer for multi-location or heavy history. Operator sentiment from Reddit, not a vendor commitment.

What migrates cleanly on either side: member records, contact details, active memberships, current packages. What doesn't: historical payments, past attendance, retention analytics, custom workflows. Both platforms will rebuild your class schedule from scratch during onboarding.

If migration is the deciding factor, both are within the same order of pain. The window and the incomplete-data list are similar.

Worth also considering: Vibefam

Neither Momence nor Mindbody is the only serious option on this shortlist. For boutique class-based operators (yoga, Pilates, HIIT, HYROX, dance, martial arts, boxing, functional strength) who want comprehensive software across operations and marketing with published pricing, first-party AI, and no forced backlinks, Vibefam belongs on your shortlist as the third option.

Book a Vibefam demo

Sources

  • Momence pricing analysis · full breakdown of Capterra-disclosed prices, add-on costs, and billing practices
  • Top 5 Momence Alternatives · shortlist of platforms operators consider when leaving Momence
  • Capterra reviews of Momence · Chase H. (April 2026), Simone P. (April 2025), Julie S. (November 2024), Matt R. (November 2024)
  • Mindbody Business · Starter tier pricing ($79/mo per location) and 20% marketplace fee cap-at-$30 mechanism
  • Reddit r/YogaTeachers and r/smallbusiness operator threads · migration timeline sentiment (2 to 4 weeks)

Every rate and figure above is dated. Reviewer quotes are verbatim from the public Capterra record. Confirm current pricing with each vendor via a demo, then read this article again with what they told you.

Frequently asked questions

Can't be answered upfront because neither platform publishes its full pricing. Mindbody's Starter tier at $79/mo per location is the only visible entry point on either side. Operator disclosures on Capterra put Momence's real range at $250 to $2,000+/mo. Get quotes from both against your specific setup and ask each vendor to itemize every fee, including processing, application fees, and marketplace fees.

No. Mindbody publishes Starter at $79/mo per location; Accelerate and Ultimate tiers require a sales quote. Momence publishes no tiers at all. Its pricing page routes to a demo request. Every price you see quoted above Mindbody Starter came from an operator disclosing what they were quoted after their demo.

Mindbody takes 20% of the first purchase a member makes when they discover your studio through the Mindbody consumer app, capped at $30 per client. After the first purchase, the member is yours and no further marketplace fee applies to that member. It functions as an acquisition cost for marketplace-sourced members, not a general transaction fee.

Yes, and it's not disclosed upfront. Capterra reviewers document per-signup application fees, a 1% Stripe markup layered on top of standard card processing, and continued billing after cancellation that operators had to escalate to reverse. There's also a forced backlink from your studio website to momence.com that operators have flagged as an undocumented cost to their own SEO.

Mindbody is the stronger multi-location platform. Pricing scales per-location, and its enterprise features (advanced reporting, unlimited users, franchise-level roll-ups) are built for it. Momence supports multi-location on higher tiers but you have to negotiate the quote through the demo cycle. If you're two locations or more, plan around Mindbody unless a Momence representative gives you a specific quote you can compare.

Both take roughly 2 to 4 weeks for a single-location studio, per Reddit operator reports. Multi-location and heavy historical data extend the timeline. Both platforms will rebuild your class schedule from scratch during onboarding, and neither cleanly migrates historical payments or attendance analytics.

Both get mixed marks from operators. Momence reviews cite responsive front-line support but slow escalation on billing issues. Mindbody reviews cite the opposite: slower first response but a more structured escalation path. Neither has a decisive advantage; it depends on which failure mode you'd rather deal with.

Aggregate scores are directional. Read individual reviews from operators in your specific vertical (yoga, Pilates, HIIT, dance, martial arts, boxing, functional strength) rather than the aggregated star ratings. The cons text is where the real pricing and billing behavior surfaces, and it's where the disclosures cited in this article come from.

Ready to Transform Your Fitness Studio?

Discover how vibefam can help you streamline operations, boost member engagement, and grow your business.

Schedule a Free Demo